Delaware Public Media

Delaware State Police offer safety tips for a safe school year

Aug 27, 2017

Delaware State Police are offering safety guidelines for the new school year, gets underway for many children this week.

 


Some kids will be riding a school bus for the first time.

With that in mind, State Police Corporal Robert Colmery says everyone should make safety a priority for children walking to and from school bus stops.

 

“Just a couple of points for the parents, if the school bus stop if not directly in front of your house, it might be down the street and you may want to familiarize yourself and your child with that.  Walk with your child in a safe manner. Just don’t send them out the door by themselves. Make sure your familiarize yourself with the bus driver.  That’s a big priority," said Colmery.

Corporal Colmery adds drivers should slow down and give themselves some time to adjust to changes in schedule and traffic patterns for school children.

Colmery also stresses drivers traveling in either direction on a two-lane road MUST stop when a school bus activates its flashing red lights and stop sign or arm.

 

Drivers traveling in the same direction as a school bus on a four-lane, divided road MUST also stop for a stopped school bus.

Drivers traveling in the opposite direction are NOT required to stop.

If you’re convicted of passing a stopped school bus with the flashers, the stop sign and the arms out, the fine is hefty.

“The fine for passing a stopped school bus is, for the first offense, could be up to $230 and it could go up as much as $575 for the second offense," said Colmery. "The individual that’s getting the violation could also have his license suspended between one and 12 months."