Delaware Public Media

Snow, cold force First State schools, gov't offices to close, delay opening Friday

Jan 4, 2018

Students across Delaware will enjoy another snow day Friday as districts announce they are not ready to open following Thursday's winter storm.

In Sussex County, Cape Henlopen, Delmar, Indian River, Laurel, Seaford, and Sussex Tech school districts will all be closed Friday.

In Central Delaware, Caesar Rodney, Capital, Lake Forest, Milford, Polytech, Smyrna and Woodbridge School Districts will be closed tomorrow.

In New Castle County, Appoquinimink, Brandywine, Christina, Colonial New Castle County Vo-Tech and Red Clay School districts are closed Friday.

Delaware State University is closed again Friday.  Salisbury University is also closed.  Delaware Tech's campuses in Dover and Georgetown are closed.

State of Delaware offices in Sussex will remain closed until 4:30 Friday afternoon.  State offices in Kent and New Castle Counties will open at 10 a.m.

Sussex County government offices are closed.  Kent County and New Castle County government offices will be opening 2 hours late.

City of Wilmington offices will open at 11 a.m.  City of Newark is operating on a 2-hour delay. Milford city offices open at 10 a.m.

Dover Air Force Base is operating on a 2-hour delay. Emergency personnel and mission essential personnel report as normal.