Delaware Public Media

State of emergency in Sussex County in wake of winter storm

Jan 4, 2018

While the snow is starting to move away from the First State, Sussex County is still dealing with the aftermath of this winter storm.

Snowfall totals topped 11 inches in some spots and gusty winds are blowing that snow around, leaving many road treacherous.

In response, Gov. John Carney has declared a state of emergency for Sussex County and issued a Level 2 driving restriction. 

The driving restriction means one cannot drive unless they are designated as essential personnel.  Sussex had be under a Level 1 driving restriction encouraging people not to drive since this morning.

“This is a serious storm, and Delawareans across Sussex County should stay off the roadways as conditions continue to worsen,” said Carney in a statement. “That will help personnel from the Delaware Department of Transportation more effectively clear the roadways, and help us provide services to our neighbors most in need.”

DART says it will not run busses in Sussex County Friday, except dialysis paratransit trips.  DART says routes in Kent and New Castle County will run, but likely have delays.

SEPTA's Wilmington/Newark Line is operating a Saturday schedule with enhanced service to Fairplay at Churchmans Crossing and Newark Stations. 

State of Delaware offices in Sussex will remain closed until 4:30 Friday afternoon.  State offices in Kent and New Castle Counties will open at 10 a.m.

Sussex County government offices are closed.  Kent County and New Castle County government offices will be opening 2 hours late.

City of Wilmington offices will open at 11 a.m.  City of Newark is operating on a 2-hour delay. Milford city offices open at 10 a.m.

Dover Air Force Base is operating on a 2-hour delay. Emergency personnel and mission essential personnel report as normal.

And schools across the state are closed Friday.

In Sussex County, Cape Henlopen, Delmar, Indian River, Laurel, Seaford, Sussex Tech school districts will all be closed Friday.

In Central Delaware, Caesar Rodney, Capital, Milford, Smyrna and Woodbridge School Districts will be closed Friday.

In New Castle County, Appoquinimink, Brandywine, Christina, Colonial and Red Clay School districts are closed Friday.

Delaware State University is closed again Friday.  Salisbury University is also closed.  Delaware Tech's campuses in Dover and Georgetown are closed.