Delaware Public Media

Winter storm prompts First State schools, gov't offices to close Thursday

Jan 3, 2018

A number of school districts are announcing delayed openings or closings because of the winter storm.

In New Castle County, Appoquinimink, Brandywine, Christina, Colonial, New Castle County Vo-Tech and Red Clay School Districts are closed.

In Central Delaware, Caesar Rodney, Capital, Lake Forest, Milford, Polytech, and Smyrna School Districts are closed.

In Sussex County, Cape Henlopen, Delmar, Indian River, Laurel, Seaford and Sussex Tech School Districts are closed.

The University of Delaware’s main campus in Newark is closed.  UD's campuses in Lewes and Georgetown are also closed Thursday.

Delaware State University's main campus in Dover and its campuses in Georgetown and Wilmington are closed Thursday.  New Student Orientation session scheduled for Thursday has been rescheduled for Saturday, Jan. 6.

All of Delaware Tech's campuses are closed Thursday.

Salisbury University has also announced it will be closed Thursday.

All State of Delaware offices are closed.  Sussex County, Kent County and New Castle County government offices are also closed.  City offices in Dover, Wilmington, Newark and Milford are closed. 

Dover Air Force Base is operating Thursday with mission essential personnel only. Medical clinic is closed.

There is a Blizzard warning for Sussex County which the National Weather Service says could get 9 to 15 inches overnight and Thursday morning.

Kent and New Castle County face Winter Storm warnings with the National Weather Service predicting 5-9 inches for Kent County and 3-7 inches for New Castle County.